top of page
All Videos
De Profundis: Out of the Depths | The Orchestra Now

De Profundis: Out of the Depths | The Orchestra Now

In this April 27, 2019 performance, world-renowned violinist Vadim Repin joins The Orchestra Now (TŌN) for the U.S. premiere of Lera Auerbach’s Violin Concerto No. 3, De Profundis. Lili Boulanger’s rendering of the psalm, performed with soprano Elizabeth de Trejo, is dedicated to the memory of her father and was composed at the early age of 22, just one year before her death. Also on the program are an a cappella choral interpretation by Pulitzer Prize winner Virgil Thomson, and the U.S. premiere of Joachim Raff’s setting for soprano, eight-part choir, and orchestra, which he dedicated to his former colleague, Franz Liszt. 0:36 Virgil Thomson: "De Profundis" Bard Festival Chorale James Bagwell, director Read concert notes by TŌN trumpet player Guillermo García Cuesta at 4:39 Introductory remarks by TŌN bassoonist Adam Romey 12:56 Joachim Raff: Psalm 130: "De Profundis" (U.S. Premiere) Elizabeth de Trejo, soprano Bard Festival Chorale Leon Botstein, conductor Read concert notes by TŌN horn player Emily Buehler at 42:46 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Drew Youmans 48:55 Lera Auerbach: "De Profundis" (Violin Concerto No. 3) (U.S. Premiere) Vadim Repin, violin Leon Botstein, conductor In lieu of concert notes, Ms. Auerbach requested that her poem "Abyss" accompany her music. You can read the poem at 1:25:20 Introductory remarks by TŌN trumpet player Anita Tóth 1:29:20 Lili Boulanger: Psalm 130: "Du fond de l’abîme" ("De Profundis") Elizabeth de Trejo, soprano Leon Botstein, conductor Read concert notes by TŌN clarinetist Rodrigo Orviz Pevida at
bottom of page