top of page

Sat, Sep 19


Livestream (see details for link)

Out of the Silence: Program Three

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

Sep 19, 2020, 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM

Livestream (see details for link)

About the event

Program Three opens with the Adagio trágico by Roque Cordero, who infused twelve-tone writing with the folk rhythms of his native Panama. In his Four Novelettes, Anglo-African late-Romantic composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor demonstrates graceful lyricism with a light, balletic touch that is almost reminiscent of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, subject of the festival’s 1998 season, whose soulful Serenade for Strings concludes the concert.


ROQUE CORDERO Adagio trágico (1955)

SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Four Novelettes, Op. 52 (1903)

PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings, Op. 48 (1880)


The Orchestra Now

Leon Botstein, Andrés Rivas, and

Zachary Schwartzman, conductors


Share this event

bottom of page